Committee & representatives

DUDS Committee

torbenLConsultant, Torben Lorentzen PhD.
Department of Surgical Gastroenterology
Copenhagen University Hospital, Herlev

MBNProfessor Michael Bachmann Nielsen, PhD, DMSc
Department of Radiology,
Copenhagen University Hospital Rigshospitalet


Consultant, Christian Nolsøe PhD
Department of Surgical Gastroenterology
Copenhagen University Hospital Herlev

LarsConsultant Lars Bolvig DMSc
Department of Radiology, 
Aarhus University Hospital 

DUDS members with relation to EFSUMB

torbenLConsultant, Torben Lorentzen PhD.

DUDS’ delegate since 2012

Department of Surgical Gastroenterology
Copenhagen University Hospital, Herlev

MBNProfessor, Michael Bachmann Nielsen PhD, DMSc:
President of EFSUMB Publication Committee since 2002
Editor for Ultraschall in der Medizin/ European Journal of Ultrasound
Former DUDS delegate (2001-2012)
Treasurer of DUDS 1998-2002 and President of DUDS 2002-2004

caroline_ewertsen_komprimStaff Specialist, Caroline Ewertsen PhD:
Member of EFSUMB Publication Committee since 2013
Editor Ultrasound International Open (UIO) since 2015
President- Elect DUDS 2012-2014
President DUDS 2014-2016
Past president DUDS 2016-18

EFSUMB Honorary members: Jens Bang, Hans Henrik Holm, see below.
(i.e. 2 out of the 3 honorary members in EFSUMB are from Denmark)

DUDS members with relation to WFUMB


Consultant, Christian Nolsøe PhD:
President-elect WFUMB since 2015
President-elect EFSUMB 2007-2009,
President EFSUMB 2009-2011
Past-president EFSUMB 2011-2013
Member of EFSUMB Education and Professional Standards Committee 2005-2008
President DUDS 2004-2008

DUDS Honorary members

Wayne j-rConsultant Flemming Jensen
Flemming Jensen was one of the first doctors to perform diagnostic ultrasound in Denmark. He started his work at the Ultrasound Department, Gentofte Hospital and continued at Copenhagen University Hospital, Rigshospitalet. He was among the first in the world to perform abscess puncture, plexus coeliacus blockage and transgluteal biopsy in the pelvis. In the mid-1980’s he was the first to perform transvaginal ultrasound and at the end of the 1980s the first to biopsy brain tumors guided by ultrasound through burr holes. In his time as chairman of DUDS, Flemming together with others advocated for ultrasound to become an independent medical specialty.

grey-silhouette-of-man-hiConsultant, Søren Hancke DMSc
Søren Hancke has previously been a member of the board of directors of WFUMB of DUDS and has participated in making ultrasound and ultrasound guided interventions available worldwide.

Søren was head of the ultrasound laboratory at Gentofte Hospital from 1982-1997 and worked as a consultant at the Department of Ultrasound, Herlev Hospital from 1997-2002. Søren has developed and scientifically described ultrasound guided cystogastrostomy as a treatment of pancreatic pseudocysts, ultrasound guided fine needle pyelography in non-dilated urinary tracts and endoscopic ultrasound guided interventions.

holmes1973Professor, Joseph H. Holmes, Denver
Holmes, who died in 1982, was one of the pioneers in ultrasound. American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM) awards each year the “The Joseph h. Holmes Pioneer Award”. Joseph Holmes was appointed Honorary Member of DUDS in 1981. Read more about Joseph Holmes here


HolmProfessor, Hans Henrik Holm DMSc
Established diagnostic and interventional ultrasound in Denmark. He was head of the ultrasound department in Gentofte, and later at Herlev Hospital. He was President of the WFUMB congress in Copenhagen in 1991, as well as of 8 other congresses in interventional ultrasound. In 1999, he became honorary member in EFSUMB. He was president of DUDS 1974-78, and 1991-92. Honorary Member in DUDS 1989. Professor Holm retired in 2000 and passed away in 2016.

BangConsultant, Jens Bang.
Vice-President of DUDS 1974-77, President 1992-94. Jens Bang was appointed Honorary Member of DUDS in 2000. Jens Bang retired in 2003.

grey-silhouette-of-man-hiConsultant, Jan F Pedersen DMSc
Jan F Pedersen, consultant at the Department of Radiology in Glostrup, was appointed an honorary member of DUDS in October 2003 for his work in the development of diagnostic ultrasound. JFP was the first to describe US guided nephrostomy and drainage of abscesses. Vice-President of DUDS 1984-87, President 1987-89. JFP retired in 2005.